General News | 14th May 2008

Sidebottom And Broad To Lead England Pace Attack

Nottinghamshire duo Ryan Sidebottom and Stuart Broad will join James Anderson in the England pace attack for the first npower Test against New Zealand, which starts at Lord’s on Thursday.

Matthew Hoggard has been left out meaning that England have kept faith with the eleven players who won the series in New Zealand.

Captain Michael Vaughan will bat at number three with Andrew Strauss opening alongside Alastair Cook.

Paul Collingwood has recovered from a shoulder injury to take his place in the side.

England team to face New Zealand: Michael Vaughan (capt), Alastair Cook, Andrew Strauss, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Tim Ambrose (wkt), Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar, James Anderson.

New Zealand (from): Aaron Redmond, Jamie How, James Marshall, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (wkt), Daniel Flynn, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (capt), Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Chris Martin.

Last Fixture

20th September 2016 at Cooper Associates County Ground