Central Contracts For Swann, Sidebottom & Broad

Featured News | 11th September 2009

Graeme Swann has been awarded a central contract by the ECB after firmly establishing himself as England’s number one spinner.

Swann’s Nottinghamshire team mates Ryan Sidebottom and Stuart Broad have retained their central contracts and Graham Onions and Matt Prior have been added to the list for the first time.

Andrew Flintoff has been awarded an increment contract after retiring from Test cricket whilst Monty Panesar and Steve Harmison have been overlooked.

“Central contracts are designed to reward players who perform well consistently for England and Graham Onions, Matt Prior and Graeme Swann have made a very significant contribution to the team’s recent success in regaining the Ashes and beating West Indies at home in both Test and one-day series,” said National Selector Geoff Miller.

“Following his retirement from Test cricket, Andrew Flintoff is no longer eligible for a 12-month central contract.”

The contracts run from October 1st 2009 to September 30th 2010.

Central contracts: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Graham Onions, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Ryan Sidebottom, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann

Increment contracts: Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Andrew Flintoff, Adil Rashid, Owais Shah, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright


Graeme Swann

Next Fixture


3rd April 2015 - at Trent Bridge





Last Fixture

15th September 2014 at Trent Bridge

LV= County Championship Division 1





website design, development, nottingham, leicester by 3bit studio ltd