Broad & Swann Included
In Ashes Squad

Featured News | 23rd September 2013

Nottinghamshire duo Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann have been included in the Englabd squad to tour Australia.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance, Warwickshire pace bowler Boyd Rankin and Durham all rounder Ben Stokes are the three uncapped players to have been included in the squad.

In total six players are included in the squad who did not feature in an XI during the recent 3-0 Investec Ashes series victory. Alongside the uncapped Test trio, Michael Carberry, Monty Panesar and Chris Tremlett have all been recalled. Carberry has been capped once at Test level, making his debut in Bangladesh in 2010. Monty Panesar has already won 48 Test caps in his seven year international career, the last of which was against New Zealand in Auckland earlier this year. Surrey pace bowler Chris Tremlett, who took 17 wickets in the 2010/11 Ashes series in Australia, will be hoping to add to his 11 Test caps.

Alastair Cook will lead a squad looking to win a fourth Ashes series in a row, a feat that has not been achieved by an England team since 1890.

Selectors also announced a 16-man England Performance Programme (EPP) squad. The England Performance Programme will spend a period training at the National Cricket Performance Centre in Loughborough followed by a month in Australia. The EPP will be based in Brisbane for a fortnight followed by two weeks in Perth. Two of the players included in the squad, Middlesex batsmen Sam Robson and Durham pace bowler Mark Wood, are yet to be selected for England programmes in any format.

National selector, Geoff Miller, said: “We are fully aware that the Ashes series will once again be fiercely contested and that this squad will need to work extremely hard and play to a very high level to retain the Ashes and we believe we have selected a squad capable of doing just that.

"As we have seen in previous series we will need all members of the squad ready to step up and make vital contributions throughout the five Tests and we feel that all 17 players have the ability to do that. There is real competition for places with both bat and ball and we feel that we have provided Andy Flower and Alastair Cook with a well balanced squad."

England squad
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt)
Matt Prior (Sussex) (VC)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Monty Panesar (Sussex/Essex)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Last Fixture

15th September 2014 at Trent Bridge

LV= County Championship Division 1





website design, development, nottingham, leicester by 3bit studio ltd