Following the departure of Clive Rice in 2002, Mick Newell took to the helm in 2002, with Notts languishing in Division Two. An instant promotion made his temporary charge permanent, and he has held the position of Director of Cricket ever since.

As well as County Championship trophy wins in 2005 and 2010, Newell has regularly navigated Nottinghamshire to the knockout stages in both twenty20 and YB40 cricket.

Only captain Chris Read and Paul Franks remain from before Newell’s time at the head of the side, the vast majority of the playing squad today brought in under his leadership.

Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad have both flourished into England Test players, and with James Taylor, Samit Patel, Michael Lumb and Alex Hales all pushing for international selection, the quality of his recruitment undeniable.

As a player Newell made 148 appearances for Notts, scoring more than 5,000 runs. His highest score was an unbeaten 203, passing 100 six times. Through the 1987 season he scored more than 1,000 runs as Nottinghamshire romped to the title.