Nottinghamshire's Wisden
Cricketers Honoured

Featured News | 11th August 2014

Nottinghamshire’s Wisden Cricketers of the Year will be permanently acknowledged in the Trent Bridge Pavilion following the production of a new honours board.

Past winners Chris Read, Tim Robinson, Franklyn Stephenson and Derek Randall unveiled the board at Sunday’s ex-players re-union.

Wisden Almanack Editors have traditionally crowned five players of the year deemed to have had the most influence on the preceding English season.

Only Surrey (49) have more cricketers on the list than Nottinghamahire (31).

“It’s a massive honour to be recognised by Wisden in this way and the list of Nottinghamshire players to have been awarded this title is very impressive,” said Club Captain Chris Read.

“I was very proud when I was included in the list in 2011 and it ‘s good that the Club has seen fit to honour everyone to have won the award in this way.”

Nottinghamshire’s Wisden Cricketers of the Year
1890 – W Barnes
1890 – W Gunn
1890 – A Shrewsbury
1891 – M Sherwin
1892 – W Attewell
1900 – A O Jones
1903 – J Iremonger
1904 – J Gunn
1908 – A W Hallam
1908 – T G Wass
1914 – A W Carr
1924 – W W Whysall
1927 – H Larwood
1929 – S J Staples
1933 – W Voce
1938 – J Hardstaff jr
1949 – W W Keeton
1950 – R T Simpson
1955 – B Dooland
1980 – D W Randall
1981 – C E B Rice
1982 – R J Hadlee
1986 – R T Robinson
1989 – F D Stephenson
2008 – R J Sidebottom
2010 – S C J Broad
2010 – G P Swann
2011 – C M W Read

Next Fixture

30th August 2016 at Trent Bridge




Not Available

Last Fixture

23rd August 2016 at Scarborough