Nottinghamshire Academy batsman Sam Wood has been included in the England U19 squad for the tour of Sri Lanka beginning on 7 January.

Wood, who doesn't turn 18 until April, enjoyed an excellent season for Notts Under 17s and was the top run-scorer in the successful cup campaigns which saw the side beaten in the final of both the one day and two day competitions.

"I'm really excited about the prospect of playting for England u19s particularly because I thought that I was a long way from the squad at the start of last season," he said.

"I scored an unbeaten century for England development Under 17s and attended training camps off the back of that but this was unexpected.

"I've been to Sri Lanka before with the Notts Academy and I know that conditions are challenging but I'm looking forward to testing myself.

"My ultimate aim is to become a professional cricketer but I know that I need to keep learning and make sure that I put in good performances and score a high volume of runs."
Lewis Gregory (Somerset) will captain the 17 man squad for the duration of the four week tour which comprises two four-day Test matches and a five match one-day international series.
Six members of the squad, Adam Ball (Kent), Daniel Bell- Drummond (Kent), Matthew Dunn (Surrey), Lewis Gregory, Ateeq Javid (Warwickshire) and Adam Rossington (Middlesex) have all represented England U19 previously including against Sri Lanka U19 during the summer.
Tim Boon, England Development Programme head coach, said: "We have selected a balanced squad with a combination of players with U19 and first class experience as well as younger players. This tour provides an excellent opportunity for the players to test themselves in different conditions and against tough opposition and develop many of the skills needed to thrive in international cricket."

England Under 19s Squad t tour Sri Lanka:
Lewis Gregory (captain, Somerset)
Adam Ball (Kent)
Daniel Bell-Drummond (Kent)
Christian Davis (Northamptonshire)
Matthew Dunn (Surrey)
Ben Foakes (Essex)
Ateeq Javid (Warwickshire)
Tymal Mills (Essex)
Tom Milnes (Warwickshire)
Jack Parsons (Sussex)
Gurman Randhawa (Yorkshire)
Adam Rossington (Middlesex)
Andrew Salter (Glamorgan)
Jack Sheppard (Hampshire)
Rammi Singh (Durham)
Shiv Thakor (Leicestershire)
Sam Wood (Nottinghamshire)
03 February, Sinhalese Sports Club