Nottinghamshire duo Jake Ball and Alex Hales have been named in England’s 14-man squad for the Vitality IT20 series against Australia and India.

Hales has played in both of his country’s wins in the current Royal London One-Day Series against Australia – which the hosts lead 2-0 – and is expected to play in today’s third match in the series at Trent Bridge.

Ball has yet to figure in the series, but will hope to get the nod at some point, and also be included in the England side for the shorter format.

Durham seamer Mark Wood is rested, while all-rounder Ben Stokes will be with the squad throughout the series as he continues his rehabilitation from his torn left hamstring.

England IT20 squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jon Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire).

Vitality IT20 fixtures

IT20, England v Australia, Wednesday 27 June, Edgbaston, Birmingham (6.30pm BST).

1st IT20, England v India, Tuesday 3 July, Emirates Old Trafford (5.30pm BST).

2nd IT20, England v India, Friday 6 July, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (5.30pm BST).

3rd IT20, England v India, Sunday 8 July, The Brightside Ground, Bristol (2pm BST).


T20 returns to Trent Bridge on 4 July with a 2017 Finals Day rematch of Notts Outlaws v Birmingham Bears. Tickets are £10 in advance for adults, £7 for over-65s & under-21s and £5 for under 16s. Secure your seats now.