Stuart Broad has been included in the Notts side to face Oxford UCCE as Mick Newell takes the chance to run the rule over several squad members not included in last week's LV County Championship win over Kent.

Broad, who will bat at number eight, gets the call alongside Nottingham-born duo Bilal Shafayat and Luke Fletcher who will be keen to play their way into contention after catching the eye in pre-season training.

Newell fought off competition from several counties to land Broad in the close season and although his England commitments are likely to limit the time he spends with Notts, the former Leicestershire bowler will have a part to play in establishing the club’s championship credentials in the early season reckoning.

“It will be good to see Stuart Broad playing cricket in a Notts shirt and I know that he has been chomping at the bit to get involved,” said Newell.

“Stuart needs to get some overs under his belt and this fixture comes at a good time for the squad because all of our batsmen need time in the middle.”

Fletcher caught the eye in the Second XI last season and toured South Africa with the first team in March.

The 19-year-old fast bowler has played alongside Notts bowling coach Phil DeFreitas for Papplewick and Linby and is tipped to make a mark at Trent Bridge.

“Bilal and Luke are both local lads who have made it into the squad on merit and they have an opportunity to start to make a name for themselves,” said Newell.

“We have made changes to the team because all of the players need game time at this stage of the season and there is no point in playing guys like Charlie Shreck, Darren Pattinson and Mark Ealham in this fixture because they are all in good shape.”

Will Jefferson and Matt Wood will open the batting and Newell also confirmed that England bowler Ryan Sidebottom will be included in the Notts team to face Ireland in the Friends Provident Trophy on Sunday.

Notts squad to face Oxford UCCE (April 23rd-25th at The Parks, Oxford University Centre of Excellence): Will Jefferson, Matt Wood, Bilal Shafayat, Adam Voges, Samit Patel, Chris Read, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad, Paul Franks, Luke Fletcher, AJ Harris