Ryan Sidebottom has been named in the England Test squad for the tour to the West Indies.

Sidebottom hasn't played Test cricket since England's defeat against South Africa at Edgbaston in August but earns his place alongside Notts team mates Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad.

The trio are joined by Samit Patel in the one day squad and Patel has also been named in the England Lions squad to tour New Zealand.

Michael Vaughan misses out on selection but National Selector Geoff Miller says that the door is open for his return if he finds form with Yorkshire.

"There's got to be justification of why people are included in the side and since Michael's problems last year when he gave up the captaincy there's not been an awful lot of runs," said Miller.

"We know what he's capable of, he's got a central contract and he's still in our plans. Michael will go with Yorkshire to Abu Dhabi for pre-season and no doubt sort his technique and career out and start pushing for selection next year."

England Test squad for tour to West Indies: Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire, capt), Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Steve Harmison (Durham), Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

England one-day squad for tour to West Indies: Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Steven Davies (Worcestershire), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Steve Harmison (Durham), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire).

England Lions squad to tour New Zealand: Robert Key (Kent, capt), Gareth Batty (Worcestershire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Mark Davies (Durham), Steven Davies (Worcestershire)*, Joe Denly (Kent), Amjad Khan (Kent), Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire), Stephen Moore (Worcestershire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Durham), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

* Tim Ambrose will replace Steven Davies in the Lions squad after the Test series in the West Indies.