Five Notts players have been included in England’s provisional 30-man squad for the ICC Champions Trophy to be held in Pakistan in September.

Ryan Sidebottom, Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann are joined by uncapped duo Samit Patel and Darren Pattinson who have impressed at Trent Bridge this season.

Pattinson, visiting family in Ireland after helping Notts to victory at the Rose Bowl yesterday, remains unaware of the call-up which comes in his first season as a county player.

“Darren has had tremendous success for us this season because he gets the ball to swing, hits his length and bowls aggressively,” said Notts Director of cricket Mick Newell.

“I knew that the England selectors were monitoring his progress and it will come as a nice surprise when he finds out that he has been included.

“Samit has been very consistent for us and I would imagine that his century against Durham in the quarter-final of the Friends Provident Trophy secured his place.

"Graeme Swann has established himself in the England one day side, Stuart Broad is developing at a phenomenal pace and Ryan Sidebottom is the model of consistency."

James Tredwell, Michael Carberry and Graeme Onions are the other uncapped players included in the selection.

“Although the 30-man ICC Champions Trophy squad is extensive it contains some exceptional talent and a strong mix of youth and experience,” said national selector Geoff Miller.

“The ICC Champions Trophy will give us the chance to test our One-Day International side against the best in the world and I know the players will be looking forward to the challenge of improving our current ODI ranking. We will continue to monitor performance in the lead up to narrowing the squad to a final number of 15.”

The squad will be reduced to 15 by August 11. The ICC Champions Trophy commences on September 11 with England’s opening match against Sri Lanka to be played at Karachi on September 14.

England’s 30-man ICC Champions Trophy Squad

1. Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire)
2. James Anderson (Lancashire)
3. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
4. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
5. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
6. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
7. Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
8. Paul Collingwood (Durham)
9. Alastair Cook (Essex)
10. Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
11. Simon Jones (Worcestershire)
12. Ed Joyce (Middlesex)
13. Robert Key (Kent)
14. Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
15. Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)
16. Phil Mustard (Durham)
17. Graham Onions (Durham)
18. Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire)
19. Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
20. Darren Pattinson (Nottinghamshire)
21. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
22. Liam Plunkett (Durham)
23. Matt Prior (Sussex)
24. Owais Shah (Middlesex)
25. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
26. Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
27. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
28. James Tredwell (Kent)
29. Chris Tremlett (Hampshire)
30. Luke Wright (Sussex)