Yorkshire have lodged an appeal against the decision to expel them from the Twenty20 Cup for fielding an ineligible player in their Northern Division fixture against Notts Outlaws at Trent Bridge.

A panel had ruled that the game and the points be awarded to The Outlaws and that they take Yorkshire’s place in the quarter-finals of the competition.

The appeal will be held under the chairmanship of David Gabbitass, at the County Ground, Taunton on Monday, July 14 2008.

Also on the appeal panel will be Chris Tickle, Alan Wadey, Mike Smith and Cliff Pocock.

Yorkshire CCC Statement

Further to a Board meeting of The Yorkshire County Cricket Club this morning, the Club have confirmed to the ECB that they will be appealing against the decision to exclude the Club from this year’s Twenty20 Cup Competition. 

The Club feel that the punishment is manifestly disproportionate to the offence and as such feels duty-bound on behalf of its players, members and staff to lodge an appeal.