Notts bowler Stuart Broad has been nominated for the International Cricket Council Emerging Player of the Year Award.

Broad has taken 24 wickets in nine Tests and with a batting average of 37.2  and is the only member of the England squad to feature in the nominations.

Ajantha Mendis, Morne Morkel and Mohammad Yousuf have also been nominated and previous winners include Kevin Pietersen and Ian Bell.

“Mendis has to be a front-runner given the impact he’s had on Test cricket but there are four deserving winners in the category and Stuart’s performances merit his nomination,” said Notts Director of Cricket Mick Newell.

“He’s working incredibly hard on his game and his physical fitness and England have given him a programme to follow to build his strength so there’s still more to come from him.

“He could conceivably bat at number seven in Test cricket and he’s shown signs that suggest he could developing into an England all-rounder in the future but he’s already a pretty firm fixture in the side.”

Shivranine Chanderpaul will compete with Mahela Jawardene, Graeme Smith and Dale Steyn for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year.

Broad will learn on Tuesday whether he has been awarded an England central contract and a place in the squads to tour India and compete in the Stanford Super Series.

ICC Annual Award Nominees

Cricketer of the Year

Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Mahela Jayawardene
Graeme Smith
Dale Steyn

Test Player of the Year
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Mahela Jayawardene
Jacques Kallis
Dale Steyn

ODI Player of the Year
Nathan Bracken
Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Sachin Tendulkar
Mohammad Yousuf

Emerging Player of the Year
Stuart Broad
Ajantha Mendis
Morne Morkel
Ishant Sharma

Associate Player of the Year
Ryan ten Doeschate
Alex Obanda
Niall O'Brien
Thomas Odoyo

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Chris Gayle
Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Brett Lee
Yuvraj Singh

Women's Player of the Year
Nicola Browne
Charlotte Edwards
Lisa Sthalekar
Claire Taylor

Spirit of Cricket
New Zealand
Sri Lanka
West Indies

Umpire of the Year
Mark Benson
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Rudi Koertzen
Simon Taufel