Samit Patel and Graeme Swann will return to the Notts Outlaws side to face Middlesex at Lord’s on Sunday following the conclusion of their England commitments.

And Notts Director of Cricket hopes to name at least one of the spin pair in his team to face Somerset at in this week’s LV County Championship fixture at Trent Bridge.

The postponement of the ICC Champions Trophy means that England will not play until the Stanford Series in October and Coach Peter Moores has elected to rest players involved in both the Test and One Day sides.

Stuart Broad and Ryan Sidebottom won’t feature in Nottinghamshire’s run-in after the rigours of the international fixture list but both will hope to earn a place in the team to face Stanford Superstars in a winner-takes-all Twenty20 fixture on Saturday 1 November.

“It has been a gruelling summer schedule and it’s important for those players involved in both the Test and ODI squads to be rested ahead of what promises to be a hectic winter," said Moores.

“With the postponement of the ICC Champions Trophy an invaluable break in the international schedule has emerged during September and it is important the players use that interval to refresh themselves mentally and physically ahead of a schedule that has little respite over the next 12 months.

“Those players involved in both England squads will be given a break from cricket but they will continue a comprehensive conditioning programme in preparation for the Stanford Super Series and the ensuing tour of India."

Sidebottom is receiving treatment for a groin injury that has ruled him out of England’s NatWest Series against South Africa.

England players unavailable for remainder of 2008 first-class season:
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)

England players available for remainder of 2008 first-class season:
Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Stephen Harmison (Durham)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Owais Shah (Middlesex)
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)