Nottinghamshire spinner Graeme Swann is determined to push for a starting berth after being named in the England Test Squad to tour India.

Swann faced competition from Notts team mate Samit Patel and Yorkshire’s Adil Rashid for the right to join Monty Panesar in the squad and has won the backing of the England Selectors.

“I played alongside Monty at Northants and it’s a partnership that I’m keen to renew,” said Swann.

“I know that the sub-continent is the best place in the world to bowl spin and I’m keen to get out there and do myself justice.

“Hopefully the wicket will be turning and that will play into my hands. Also, with Ryan Sidebottom playing there should be a bit of rough for the right-handers which will be in my favour.

“The selection’s very tough these days because there’s so many people on the fringe and knocking on the door.”

Notts bowlers Ryan Sidebottom and Stuart Broad are also included as are Middlesex batsman Owais Shah and Sussex wicket-keeper Matt Prior.

National Selector Geoff Miller said: “The inclusion of Graeme Swann as off spinner provides us with a right-arm, left-arm slow bowling combination which we believe can be effective in India.

“Our decision to pick Owais Shah was based on the fact that he is an excellent player of spin who played a superb innings in India on his Test debut two years ago,” added Miller.

“It’s a further opportunity for him to build on his success with the One-Day side this year and his inclusion in the squad will create real competition for places within the batting unit.

“Matt Prior has enjoyed an impressive domestic season with Sussex and having re-established himself in the England One-Day side, he will now compete with Tim Ambrose for the position of Test wicket-keeper.”

England Test squad to tour India:

1. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire) captain
2. Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire)
3. James Anderson (Lancashire)
4. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
5. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
6. Paul Collingwood (Durham)
7. Alastair Cook (Essex)
8. Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
9. Stephen Harmison (Durham)
10. Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire)
11. Matt Prior (Sussex)
12. Owais Shah (Middlesex)
13. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
14 Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
15. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)

India Tour Itinerary

Weds Dec 3 – Travel from Delhi to Baroda
Thurs Dec 4 - Practice
Fri Dec 5 to Sun Dec 7 – Three day game in Baroda
Mon Dec 8 – Travel to Ahmedabad
Tues Dec 9 – Practice
Weds Dec 10 – Practice
Thurs Dec 11 – Mon Dec 15- 1st Test in Ahmedabad
Tues Dec 16 – Travel to Mumbai
Weds Dec 17 – Practice
Thurs Dec 18 – Practice
Fri Dec 19 – Tues Dec 23 – 2nd Test in Mumbai
Weds Dec 24 – Return to UK