Nottinghamshire seamer Stuart Broad has backed Alistair Cook to have a positive influence on the England team when he leads their tour of Bangladesh in the absence of Andrew Strauss.

Broad, backed by many to be a future England captain himself, is a first time tourist in Bangladesh and should feature in Sunday's first One Day International in Mirpur despite sitting out of two warm-up games against a Bangladesh Cricket Board Eleven.

"Alastair has taken over with a lot of confidence and slotted into the regime very well," said Broad.

"He's worked well over the past year and is enjoying the responsibility - and the players are enjoying it. I'm sure he'll be nervous on Sunday but everyone's behind him and doing their best to help him.

"We've had some really good preparation, we've got used to the conditions and we're looking forward to Sunday."

Broad recently rule himself out of participating in the Indian Premier League, underlining his commitment to putting international cricket at the top of his list of priorities.

"We've got a really busy schedule and this time last year I thought it would be best to give my body a break,” said Broad.

"I'm only 23 and I need to look after myself at this age to prolong my's important to look after my body at this age.

"It's a big decision but it's very personal and will differ from batsman to bowler. The workload is heavier on the bowler - the body is under more stress - while the batsman will probably want to know about different conditions and bowlers.

"It looks a fantastic tournament and you learn a lot but with the winter coming and with us looking to retain the Ashes I felt a three-week break would be better for myself."

Bangladesh (from): Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Imrul Kayes, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Sohrawardy Shuvo, Tamim Iqbal.

England (from): Alastair Cook (capt), Paul Collingwood, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Joe Denly, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior (wk), Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright.