Nottinghamshire Chairman Peter Wright has been nominated by the First Class Counties and the MCC as their candidate for the post of Chairman of Cricket.

In a ballot, Mr Wright received ten votes while Tim O’Gorman received nine votes.

Wright was proposed by Warwickshire and seconded by Surrey and Yorkshire, while former Derbyshire batsman O'Gorman was proposed by Derbyshire and seconded by Kent and Leicestershire.

The Notts Chairman will now be recommended to the 41 members of the ECB for election with formal endorsement expected to be completed later this month.

As Chairman of Cricket, Wright will become a member of the ECB Management Board replacing former Lancashire Chairman Jack Simmons who decided to retire after many distinguished years of service to the game as a player and administrator.