Nottinghamshire wicket keeper Chris Read has been named Wisden Cricketer of the Year.

The club captain led Notts to their first LV= County Championship triumph since 2005 and amassed a personal run tally of 916.

“I’m honoured because of the history and prestige that goes with this award and a lot of big name players have won it in the past,” said Read.

“It was a very nice surprise to hear that I was on the list and I think that the success of the Nottinghamshire team last year led to the recognition.”

Bangladeshi batsman Tamim Iqbal and England duo Jonathan Trott and Eoin Morgan have also been recognised by Wisden although a planned award to Pakistani bowler Mohammad Amir was revoked following his ban from international cricket.

Read joins a long list of Nottinghamshire players to be honoured by the publication that includes Stuart Broad (2010), Graeme Swann (2010), Ryan Sidebottom (2008), Derek Randall (1980) and Joe Hardstaff (1938).