Nottinghamshire Director of Cricket Mick Newell has been seconded to work with England Lions on their forthcoming tour of West Indies.

Newell, who oversaw Nottinghamshire’s LV= County Championship title win last season, will join a tour management team headed by the ECB’s National Cricket Performance Centre Director David Parsons.

“Mick is one of the most highly regarded coaches currently working within our domestic game and his cricketing knowledge and coaching skills will be hugely beneficial to the England Lions in the Caribbean,” said Hugh Morris, Managing Director of England Cricket.

“Mick fulfilled a similar role with the England U19s team during their tour of Bangladesh and we are very grateful once again to Nottinghamshire for their help and support in releasing him on a short-term basis ahead of their domestic season.”

Nottinghamshire Assistant Manager Wayne Noon will take of care of team affairs during Mick’s absence from Monday 24 January until Friday 25 March.

Newell hopes to conclude deals with potential overseas players before his departure.

“It’s a huge honour to be asked to work with England Lions and it’s an exciting time given the depth of talent in the setup,” said Newell.

“I firmly believe that future Test cricketers will emerge from this group and there are a few recent internationals involved as well.

“We have an excellent team of coaches and support staff at Nottinghamshire who will oversee our pre-season preparations in my absence and I’m looking forward to the challenge of another season with Nottinghamshire when I return.”

England Lions squad to tour West Indies: James Hildreth (Somerset) (Captain), Jimmy Adams (Hampshire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Maurice Chambers (Essex), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steve Finn (Middlesex) (first half of tour only), Andrew Gale (Yorkshire), James Harris (Glamorgan), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Adam Lyth (Yorkshire), Liam Plunkett (Durham), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Leicestershire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire) (second half of tour only).