Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor has retained his place in the England Test squad for the series finale at Lord’s.

Stuart Broad will also keep his place in the team with Graeme Swann set to return having missed the draw at Headingley. 

Kevin Pietersen’s omission for failing to confirm that he had not sent derogatory texts to members of the South African team capped a bizarre week in which the former Nottinghamshire batsman hinted at possible retirement, battled to have a spoof Twitter account closed down and then made an about turn in a self-published YouTube video in which he made himself available for all-format selection.

"During the past week we have held several discussions with Kevin Pietersen and his advisors," said Managing Director of England Cricket Hugh Morris.

"Following a constructive meeting, it was agreed that a number of actions needed to be completed to re-engage Kevin within the England dressing room.

"A fundamental item was to confirm publicly that no derogatory texts had been sent by Kevin to the South African team.

"This has not been forthcoming despite clear timelines being set to allow the Selectors to pick the squad for the third test match. We provided an additional six hours this morning to provide every opportunity for agreement to be reached but regrettably this has not been possible.

"The success of the England team has been built on a unity of purpose and trust. Whilst we have made every attempt to find a solution to enable Kevin to be selected we have sadly had to conclude that, in the best interest of the team, he will miss the Lord's Test."

England squad for the third Investec Test at Lord's: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex-Captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Matt Prior (Sussex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).