Samit Patel is in line to return to the England team to face West Indies at Headingley on Friday after the ECB elected to rest Nottinghamshire duo Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann and Yorkshire favourite Tim Bresnan.

Stuart Meaker, Chris Woakes and James Tredwell have been added to an otherwise unchanged England squad.

“The fact that we have already won the NatWest series means we are able to take the opportunity to rest three players ahead of next week’s series against Australia and take a closer look at players who are likely to feature in our limited overs planning going forward," said National Selector Geoff Miller.

England NatWest Series squad
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Captain)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)