Mick Newell will name his starting eleven for Nottinghamshire’s opening match in The Banks Barbados T20 Cup and Plate on Wednesday evening after a morning net session at the Franklyn Stephenson Cricket Academy.

The director of cricket needs to check on the fitness of Michael Lumb and Alex Hales, neither of whom has featured on the tour so far.

Both England T20 internationals have been carefully monitored over the last few days and were left out of the matches against Warwickshire and Yorkshire as a precaution ahead of the forthcoming tournament.

Lumb, who had ankle surgery during the winter months, is close to full fitness and is expected to start, whilst Hales has just about recovered from a knock to his right knee. The Outlaws’ other injury concern is James Taylor, who felt a tweak in his hamstring whilst fielding on Monday and was immediately replaced and given treatment.

Notts participation in the tournament begins with the fourth and final quarter-final, against Barbados at the world-famous Kensington Oval. The host island will definitely be without some of their most illustrious players, with fast bowlers Fidel Edwards, Kemar Roach and Tino Best all currently in the West Indies’ squad that is playing a series of ODIs against Australia in St Vincent and St Lucia.

A number of other Test players are likely to feature though, for the side currently lying in third position in the Regional 4-day competition. Kraigg Braithwaite, Dwayne Smith, Sulieman Benn and Pedro Collins could all start against the Outlaws.

In Tuesday’s opening two quarter final matches Yorkshire defeated the Derbyshire Falcons by 60 runs and Leicestershire Foxes overcame the Combined Campuses and Colleges by just 7 runs.

Hampshire Royal meet Warwickshire Bears ahead of the Outlaws’ clash, which begins at 7.30pm local time (11.30pm UK time).

Text updates will be available on the The Banks Barbados T20 Cup and Plate Facebook Page.

Notts squad for The Banks Barbados T20 Cup and Plate: Chris Read, Michael Lumb, Alex Hales, Neil Edwards, James Taylor, Karl Turner, Riki Wessels, Steven Mullaney, Scott Elstone, Paul Franks, Ben Phillips, Graeme White, Luke Fletcher, Jake Ball, Andy Carter,  Harry Gurney and George Bacon