Stuart Broad has been named alongside England teammates Alastair Cook and Joe Root in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

Broad’s 8-15 against Australia on the first morning of the Trent Bridge Test set England on their way to series victory, the first time the hosts had secured the Ashes in Nottingham.

In that spell Broad became just the fifth English bowler to pass 300 Test wickets and equaled the fastest Test five-wicket haul, from just 19 deliveries, as he single-handedly dismissed Australia within 111 balls.

On the back of his Australian demolition, Broad finished the series as leading wicket taker with 21 scalps to his name.

The England number eight also reached 2,000 Test runs in the series, becoming the second man for his country, after Ian Botham, to go to 300 wickets and 2,000 runs in the longest format.

To date, Broad has taken 51 Test wickets across the calendar year, lying in second place being Ravichandran Ashwin, who is 12th man.

Broad is joined in the side by Cook, who is chosen as captain, and Root, who has scored 2,131 runs across all three formats, the most by an Englishman in a year.

The rest of the team is made up of three Australians (David Warner, Steve Smith and Josh Hazlewood), three players from Pakistan (Younis Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah) and one New Zealander (Trent Boult).

Meanwhile Imran Tahir, who enjoyed a short spell with the Outlaws in 2015, made the ODI team of the year.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015

David Warner (Australia)

Alastair Cook (England) (Captain)

Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Younis Khan (Pakistan)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Joe Root (England)

Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (Wicketkeeper)

Stuart Broad (England)

Trent Boult (New Zealand)

Yasir Shah (Pakistan)

Josh Hazlewood (Australia)

12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)

Hashim Amla (South Africa)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) (Wicketkeeper)

AB de Villiers (South Africa) (Captain)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Ross Taylor (New Zealand)

Trent Boult (New Zealand)

Mohammed Shami (New Zealand)

Michell Starc (Australia)

Mustafiqur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Imran Tahir (South Africa)

12th: Joe Root (England)


The 2015 season has seen dramatic last-gasp four day victories, thrilling limited-overs contests and an historic Investec Ashes Test, all in the unique surroundings of Trent Bridge.

Next season, we’d wager, will be no less enthralling and frankly we’d hate for you to miss out.

Click here to secure your Membership for 2016...