Now the ECB have announced their new 100-ball competition - to be played at eight venues in 2020, including Trent Bridge - take a look at a timeline of events to see how the concept has developed so far.


March 2017 - An extensive consultation period, which included discussion and debate with the First Class Counties and wider game, regular updates from the T20 development team and detailed presentations by independent experts, culminated in a presentation to all 41 stakeholders. 

April 2017 - ECB announced plans to create a new domestic competition after winning formal approval from its members for the necessary change to the Board’s Articles of Association. The ECB’s membership approved the proposal by an overwhelming majority of 38-3. 

June 2017 - The new competition formed part of ECB’s new media rights agreement with Sky Sports and BBC from 2020-24 and it was announced it would feature 36 games played over a 38-day summer window with four home matches per team. All matches would be televised, it was revealed. 

February 2018 - Acting on recommendations made by the Host Venue Panel, the ECB Board awarded hosting rights in the new competition to eight venues: Trent Bridge, The Ageas Bowl, Edgbaston, Emirates Old Trafford, Lord’s, SSE Swalec Stadium and The Kia Oval. 

March 2018 - ECB announced the formation of a New T20 Board as the next stage in the development of the competition. Acting in an advisory role to the ECB’s main Board of Directors, the 11-strong body has sub-committee status and oversees the design, implementation and all operational aspects of the new competition.

April 2018 - The format of a proposed 100-ball competition is announced by the ECB. 


Notts Outlaws begin their T20 Blast title defence at Trent Bridge on 4 July against Birmingham Bears. Tickets are £10 in advance – book now and save money…