Nottinghamshire Second XI lost both games in their T20 double header against neighbours Derbyshire at the 3aaa County Ground.  

The first match saw Nottinghamshire win the toss and chose to bat first, only to lose Solomon Budinger and captain Luke Wood in consecutive balls with the total on 30 from the bowling of Anuj Dal, as the former was caught at mid-on by James Kettleborough and the latter at point by Chesney Hughes.

Chris Gibson soon followed, trapped lbw by former Notts player Dal, who then claimed his fourth wicket when Saad Ashraf (9) was taken at long-off by Kettleborough.

Savin Perera (6) gave Dal his five-fer when he was caught at cover by William Davis, making the score 53-5, before trialist Dylan Blignaut (12) was held at deep mid-wicket by Dan Wheeldon off the bowling of Mattie McKiernan.

Liam Patterson-White made a short visit to the middle, out for 1 when he holed out to deep mid-wicket off Will Davis’ bowling with Dal taking the catch.

Kamau Leverock (14 not out) joined Lyndon James (27 not out) and the pair saw off the remaining overs, finishing on 106-7.

Derbyshire’s reply did not start well as opener Thomas Wood steered into the hands of Saad Ashraf from the last delivery of the first over bowled by Jack Blatherwick.

Hughes (19) was caught by Perera at short third man, off Leverock and it was 57-3 when Gibson trapped Kettleborough (24) lbw.

Scott Palombo (2) soon edged Liam Patterson-White to keeper Tom Keast, while replacement Josh Morgan (14) tried to ramp a ball from Blatherwick over the top but it went straight to James at slip.

At 80-5, Notts felt they had a chance, but Dal with 34 not out and McKiernan, with 13 not out, guided Derbyshire home by five wickets and with 21 balls to spare.

It was the hosts who batted first in the second game and they piled up 174-8 off their 20 overs.

Chesney Hughes (6) edged Jack Blatherwick through to keeper Tom Keast from the fourth ball off the first over, but James Kettleborough and Tom Wood (26) put on 59 for the second wicket before the latter was lbw to Chris Gibson.

Gibson struck again when bowling Kettleborough for 35 before running Scott Palombo for 4.

Another fifty partnership followed between Anuj Dal and Josh Morgan (23), who was fifth out, caught at cover by Gibson off Kamau Leverock’s bowling.

Next to the middle was Mattie McKiernan, who scored a quick-fire 23 off 11 balls before being caught at deep mid-wicket by Leverock, the bowler Blatherwick.

Dal’s fine knock of 45 was ended by Saad Ashraf effecting a run out and Matthew Sonczak (7) suffered the same fate at the hands of Perera.  

The Nottinghamshire reply has seriously hit with four wickets going down in the first four overs.

Solomon Budinger (4) was caught Tom Wood off Mohammad Azarullah’s fifth ball of the innings, while Jack Batherwick (0) was caught by Sonczak off Dan Wheeldon in the second over.

The early collapse continued as Lyndon James (4) was bowled by Wheeldon, who then had Luke Wood (12) caught by Tom Wood in the same over, making it 24-4.

Saad Ashraf (29) made some headway until he was held by Wheeldon off McKiernan and Tom Keast (7) was caught by Scott Palombo off Will Davis.

Kamau Leverock (16) was next out, bowled by McKiernan, Dylan Blignaut (0) was run out by Azarullah in a mix-up with Liam Patterson-White and Perera was trapped lbw by McKiernan.

Last man Chris Gibson (4) was caught at deep mid-wicket by McKiernan off Azarullah leaving Patterson-White unbeaten on 10, Notts all out for just 93 and Derbyshire the victors by 81 runs.   


Watch every Notts scheduled home match - including all seven Vitality Blast (T20) group games - by joining our family as a Member. You’ll also get access to Thursday’s Royal London One-Day Cup Play-off for £10 in advance – saving £8.

Adult prices start from £38, with Under-16s £28. You can become a Member by clicking here.