Notts Outlaws return to Trent Bridge for a home double-header in the Royal London One-Day Cup.

The Outlaws currently top the North Group and will be looking to move towards qualification for the knock-out phase by extending their winning streak on home soil.

Traditional rivals Leicestershire Foxes will be the opponents on Friday 26 April from 11am.

The Foxes have made an indifferent start to their Royal London campaign, winning just one of their opening four fixtures.

They have lost both of their away trips, but overcame Worcestershire in a high-scoring contest at the Fischer County Ground. 

Colin Ackermann scored an unbeaten 152 in that match and added a further century against Derbyshire at home on Wednesday, although the Foxes slid to their third defeat after the match was decided by DLS calculations.

Notts have won their opening three matches and will be looking to take maximum points from their opening four matches for the first time since 2013 with a win, although they won five and had a further fixture rained off at the start of their 2015 campaign.


Notts and Leicestershire will be meeting for the 62nd time in one-day cricket, across the various competitions and match distances.

They first met in a Player’s County League match at Grace Road in 1969.

Notts lead the overall head-to-head with 29 wins to Leicestershire’s 27.

Five matches have been lost to the weather, four of them being at Trent Bridge.

On home soil Notts have won 17 of the clashes, most recently at Welbeck two years ago.

Leicestershire’s last success in Nottingham was in 2010, when they won their ninth away match in the series.

Results have fluctuated between the two. Notts have won six and lost four of the last 10 meetings between the two.

Last Time

The last time the two sides met at Trent Bridge was in 2010 when the Foxes won a tight contest by 4 runs.

Containing three players (James Taylor, Greg Smith and Harry Gurney) who would go on and make the switch to Trent Bridge, the visitors scored 219-7 in the Clydesdale Bank 40 match.

Notts narrowly came up short, finishing on 215-9, despite Adam Voges making an unbeaten 71.

Two years ago the fixture was staged at Welbeck, with Samit Patel scoring 79 in the Outlaws’ six-wicket win.

Patel was at it again last year, making 100 as Notts rattled up 409-7 in their 93-run success.


There have been few collapses to rival Nottinghamshire’s in a 1987 Benson and Hedges Cup match against Leicestershire at Grace Road.

Starting brightly, Mick Newell and Tim Robinson put on 43 for the first wicket.

What happened next defies belief.

Their demise wasn’t totally self-inflicted, with West Indian quick bowler Winston Benjamin hurrying them to an ignominious total by collecting four wickets in six balls, including a hat-trick with the wickets of Paul Johnson, Richard Hadlee and Bruce French.

At 62-6 play was abandoned for the day but the following morning Benjamin took another wicket to claim 5-26 with Notts all out for just 74.

They had lost all ten wickets for just 31 runs with the five batsmen between three and seven in the order all recording ducks.

Stats (from all List A meetings between Notts & Leics)

Highest Team Total | Notts: 409-7 (Grace Road, 2018), Leics: 316-9 (Grace Road, 2018).

Highest Individual Score | Notts: 107 SP Fleming (Oakham School, 2007), Leics: 141 J du Toit (Grace Road, 2010).

Best Bowling | Notts: 6-22 MK Bore (Grace Road, 1980), Leics: 6-29 WA White (Grace Road, 2010).

Hat-tricks | Leics: WKM Benjamin (Grace Road, 1987). 

Played For Them Both

Zak Chappell will be hoping for an early opportunity to face his former side.

The 22-year-old moved from Grace Road to Trent Bridge at the end of last season and made his one-day debut for Notts in the victory over Lancashire.

Chappell made his Foxes debut during 2015 and appeared in 14 first class, 11 one-day and 13 T20 matches before joining the Outlaws.

Amongst the many players that have represented both counties are: Stuart Broad, Vasbert Drakes, Harry Gurney, Andrew Harris, Will Jefferson, Chris Lewis, Nadeem Malik, David Millns, Charlie Shreck, Greg Smith, Peter Such and James Taylor.


Steven Mullaney has taken 98 wickets in List A cricket.


Join us as a Member for access to every home Royal London One Day Cup group game, every County Championship fixture and seven home T20 Vitality Blast matches from £29 by clicking here.