Nottinghamshire suffered their second consecutive reverse in the Second XI Trophy as they fell to a seven-wicket defeat at Derbyshire.

The visitors won the toss and chose to bat, but lost Jayden Schadendorf cheaply when the opener edged behind for 4.

Skipper Sol Budinger joined Jordan Cook at the crease, but he too would soon depart, hitting Tony Palladino to deep mid-wicket for 8.

Cook’s innings itself would last only one more over before he was caught at mid-on for 12, and his replacement Louis Bhabra made just two before he was castled by Fynn Hudson-Prentice.

Chris Gibson and triallist Hayden Roussow were able to stem the flow of wickets, rotating the strike well in a disciplined stand of 40 before Hamidullah Qadri’s off-spin accounted for Gibson (29).

Qadri’s spell also removed Jack Blatherwick (16), but Roussow was able to marshall the Notts score past 150 before he was dismissed by Connor Marshall for 43.

Sam Hall and Kamau Leverock both made important contributions down the order, Hall making 39 before he was bowled by Palladino and Leverock moving through the gears in compiling a 21-ball knock of 34.

The left-hander was removed by Hudson-Prentice with the score on 202-9, and Notts were only able to add two further runs before Dustin Melton lured Sebastian Menzhausen (4) into edging behind.

Defending a total of 204, Notts made the perfect start as Mark Footitt’s fourth delivery proved too good for Malcolm Lake, who departed for a duck.

Tyler McGladdery and Tom Wood were able to usher Derbyshire to within striking range of their target, the duo putting on 149 for the second wicket.

McGladdery’s innings of 68 came to an end when he was bowled by Chris Gibson for 68, and the legspinner removed his replacement Anuj Dal five overs later for 13.

With Derbyshire already on 184 at this point, victory was all-but assured, and Wood (86*) was able to see the hosts over the line in the company of Hudson-Prentice (13*).


Join us as a Member for access to every home Royal London One Day Cup group game, every County Championship fixture and seven home T20 Vitality Blast matches from £29 by clicking here.