Stephen Fleming has backed his Trent Rockets side to ‘create something really exciting’ in next summer’s inaugural edition of The Hundred.

The Head Coach selected a dozen new faces to join Joe Root, Harry Gurney and Alex Hales in representing the Rockets at Trent Bridge next summer, as he took part in the first-ever player draft in UK sport.

“The atmosphere in the studio was just amazing – all these world class coaches going head-to-head to select the very best cricket stars for next summer’s competition,” he said.

“I’m thrilled to bring these players together and create the very first Trent Rockets squad – I know we’re going to create something really exciting next summer when the competition gets started.”

Fleming enjoyed the privilege of first pick in the draft, opting to secure the services of Afghanistan mystery spinner Rashid Khan from the 570 players who registered for the competition.

Khan will be joined at Trent Bridge next summer by a substantial Notts contingent, with Fleming adding Steven Mullaney, Matt Carter, Tom Moores and Luke Fletcher to the existing local icon duo of Alex Hales and Harry Gurney.

Fleming, a three-time IPL winner with Chennai Super Kings, feels this will help his outfit to gel more rapidly.

"You only get three or four days before you start playing, so you can't create any grand plans to introduce team spirit,” he said.

“It's important to sign players who know the venue and the area.

"A lot goes into it (the draft) and there's a lot of sheets that I'm happy to throw into the bin now because it does preoccupy your mind in advance."

Fleming completed his selection of three overseas picks by drafting the Australian duo of D’Arcy Short and Nathan Coulter-Nile, and completed his side with a selection of the English game’s leading lights.

Lewis Gregory was the Kiwi’s first domestic pick, with the Somerset all-rounder joined by Luke Wood, Dawid Malan, Ben Cox and Luke Wright in subsequent rounds.

The Head Coach will have the chance to add one further face to the party ahead of next summer’s competition, as the best performers in next year’s Vitality Blast compete for ‘wildcard’ places in each side.

Trent Rockets squad: Joe Root, Rashid Khan, D’Arcy Short, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Harry Gurney, Steven Mullaney, Matt Carter, Luke Wood, Tom Moores, Dawid Malan, Ben Cox, Luke Fletcher, Luke Wright.


Register your interest for The Hundred here.