Graeme Swann and Samit Patel have been named alongside Ryan Sidebottom and Stuart Broad in the England squad to compete for $20,000,000 in the Stanford Super Series.

Broad and Sidebottom, who have been awarded 12-month central contracts running from October 1 2008, will join the spin-bowling all-rounders for the tournament in Antigua and for England’s One Day International Series in India.

Swann and Patel are amongst seven players awarded England Increment Contracts and will receive a one-off fee from the ECB on top of their domestic contracts.

“The increment contracts given to Samit and Graeme indicate a great opportunity for them to be more closely involved with England,” said Notts Director of Cricket Mick Newell.

“Out of this country, there’s an opportunity for England to play two spinners in one day cricket and it makes for healthy competition if they only pick one

“There’s a sense of pride for the whole club because Samit has come through from our Under 11s. It’s always nice to have a player in the England team but when a boy comes through and learns all of his cricket here it’s even better.

“Stuart’s been involved in six out of seven test matches this year and it makes sense that England should take control of his workload and pay his wages.

“Ryan’s working on a fitness programme and he’s hoping to play as much cricket as he can for England this winter.”

Former Test captain Michael Vaughan has also been awarded a central contract but Matthew Hoggard has been omitted following Broad's arrival on the international stage.

“With regard to the award of Central Contracts, I am delighted that Stuart Broad has won an England Central Contract for the first time,” said National Selector Geoff Miller.

”Stuart has made rapid progress over the past year and adapted extremely well to the challenges of both Test and One-Day International cricket.

“The selectors would like to congratulate the team on an outstanding performance in beating such a talented One-Day side as South Africa so comprehensively.

“It bodes extremely well for the tough challenges that lie ahead this winter and is reflected in our decision to retain the bulk of the squad from this summer’s NatWest Series for both The Stanford Super Series and the tour of India.”

Nottinghamshire will continue to receive a Performance Related Fee Payment to reward the development of players that play for England.

England Squad for Stanford Super Series and India ODI Series: Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire) capt, James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Stephen Harmison (Durham), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Matt Prior (Sussex) Owais Shah (Middlesex),Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

England players awarded 12-month central contracts for the period from 1 October 2008 to 30 September 2009: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Andrew Flintoff, Stephen Harmison, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Ryan Sidebottom, Andrew Strauss and Michael Vaughan.

England players awarded increment contracts: Tim Ambrose, Ravi Bopara,  Samit Patel, Matthew Prior, Owais Shah, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.