Nottinghamshire’s Ravi Ashwin has been nominated for the July PCA Player of the Month award.

Vote for Ashwin to win the award here...

The Indian international goes up against the Middlesex duo of Dawid Malan and Toby Roland-Jones and Yorkshire’s Keshav Maharaj with the winner decided via public vote.

With the seventh month of the year being evenly split between the Specsavers County Championship and the Vitality Blast, two cross-format players have been recognised in Malan and Roland-Jones, as well as two Championship specialists in Aswhin and Maharaj.

“Every bit of Ravi Ashwin’s world-class quality has been on display this month,” said a PCA statement upon announcing the nominees.

“Appearing in three four-day fixtures, the 32-year-old has accrued the most MVP points of any player this month, despite not playing in a single Blast game over the past few weeks.

“That’s thanks largely to his incredible performance against Surrey in the fixture beginning Saturday 13 June.

“Ashwin claimed match figures of 12-144 whilst making 31% of his side’s runs at a strike rate of 60 with the bat.

“His total of 81.53 MVP points for that game is the highest of any player in a domestic fixture in 2019.

“Amazingly, that was Ashwin’s second man-of-the-match performance that week: his first had already come against Somerset six days earlier.”

The MVP algorithm was purpose-built by the PCA in conjunction with the players to identify the match-winning performers in any given game.

Bonus points are awarded for scoring a high proportion of your team’s runs, claiming top order wickets and taking catches in the field, amongst other important disciplines.

The MVP Rankings therefore give a more accurate reflection of the domestic game’s top performers than traditional batting or bowling averages do.

This year’s Overall MVP will follow in the footsteps of 2018 winner Joe Denly in collecting a £10,000 cash prize to recognise the best performing player in county cricket, according to statistics.

Previous Player of the Month awards this season have been won by Hampshire’s Liam Dawson in April, Essex’s Simon Harmer in May and Leicestershire opener Hassan Azad last time out in June.

Vote for Ashwin to win the award here...


There are four further opportunities to catch the Outlaws in T20 action at Trent Bridge this summer, with the next home game under the lights against Birmingham Bears on this coming Friday 2 August.

Secure your seats….