Nottinghamshire’s Jenny Gunn has been named in the England squad for the first Royal London ODI of this summer’s crucial Ashes series.

The all-rounder joins a squad of 14 for the first game, which takes place on Tuesday (July 2) at Leicestershire’s Fischer County Ground. 

Captain Heather Knight has overcome a hamstring injury she picked up during the series win over the West Indies earlier this month. 

“We're massively excited now and we just want to get started. You play cricket for series like this, they're special, so we're all just raring to go,” said Knight.

"It wasn't an easy squad to pick. We've won 14 games in a row and during that time different people have performed and stuck their hand up. That bodes well for the Ashes and hopefully we can maintain that form throughout this series.

"We're really happy with this group. There's a good feeling amongst us and we want to go out there and regain the Ashes. That's our primary focus for the next month."

England will be looking to regain the Ashes in the multi-format series after Australia were victorious by 10 points to 6 in the last series on home soil in 2015 and kept hold of the urn through an 8-8 draw in 2017.

The full England side is as follows: Heather Knight (Berkshire, captain), Tammy Beaumont (Kent), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Kate Cross (Lancashire), Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Amy Jones (Warwickshire), Laura Marsh (Kent), Nat Sciver (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Berkshire), Sarah Taylor (Sussex, wicketkeeper), Fran Wilson (Kent), Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire) and Danni Wyatt (Sussex).

England face Australia in three ODI’s, worth two points each, with a four-point test match taking place at Taunton before the series concludes with two T20 fixtures, also worth two points each.

The full list of fixtures for the 2019 Ashes series is below.

Royal London Women's ODI Series

Tuesday July 2: England Women v Australia Women, Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, 2pm (2 points)

Thursday July 4: England Women v Australia Women, Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, 2pm (2 points)

Sunday July 7: England Women v Australia Women, The Spitfire Ground, Canterbury, 11am (2 points)

Kia Women's Test Match

Thursday July 18-Sunday July 21: England Women v Australia Women, Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, 11am (4 points)

Vitality Women's IT20 Series

Friday July 26: England Women v Australia Women, The CloudFM County Ground, Chelmsford, 7.15pm (2 points)

Sunday July 28: England Women v Australia Women, The 1st Central County Ground, Hove, 2pm (2 points)

Wednesday July 31: England Women v Australia Women, Bristol County Ground, Bristol, 6.15pm (2 points)