Nottinghamshire's Sophie Munro has been named as one of the 29 players joining the England Women's setup.

The right-armer, who made two appearances for England Academy Women over the summer, has been selected for the Training squad, which earmarks those with the potential to be part of the Women's Academy in the future.

Players in the EWA will benefit from an individualised programme designed to maximise the chances of future transition to the senior squad.

A separate Spin Bowling Group has also been added to the 2019/20 intake, in addition to the Training Squad.

"We look forward to working closely with this group across the next 12 months," said John Stanworth, Head Coach of the England Women's Academy.

"The opportunity to develop their skills alongside other talented players on a regular basis is an important part of their development.

"It is an exciting group of players and we look forward to seeing them progress through the different experiences they will be exposed to both here and abroad."

England Women's 2019/20 Academy: Lauren Bell (Berkshire), Maia Bouchier (Hampshire), Alice Capsey (Surrey), Charlie Dean (Hampshire), Sarah Glenn (Worcestershire), Danielle Gibson (Wales), Amy Gordon (Surrey), Freya Kemp (Sussex), Lucia Kendall (Hampshire), Ella McCaughan (Sussex), Issy Wong (Warwickshire).

Training Squad: Alex Avoth (Hampshire), Grace Ballinger (Warwickshire), Chloe Brewer (Surrey), Ria Fackrell (Warwickshire), Lauren Filer (Somerset), Alex Griffiths (Wales), Sophie Munro (Nottinghamshire), Sonali Patel (Middlesex), Grace Scrivens (Kent), Deeksha Sharma (Surrey), Olivia Thomas (Lancashire), Natasha Wraith (Somerset).

Spin Bowling Group: Hannah Baker (Worcestershire), Helen Fenby (Durham), Bethan Miles (Buckinghamshire), Ellie Mitchell (Somerset), Ilenia Sims (Staffordshire), Sophia Smale (Wales).


Nottinghamshire Membership for the 2020 season is on sale, with those who join for next season bestowed access to all scheduled Notts home matches, international tickets in Members' areas and a range of exclusive benefits.

Click here to purchase Membership online…