Steven Mullaney, Tom Moores and Matthew Carter have been joined by the world’s number one T20 batsman, Dawid Malan, in signing for Trent Rockets for 2021.

The newly announced quartet bolsters a squad already boasting England Test skipper Joe Root and number one pick Rashid Khan for the inaugural edition of The Hundred.

All four were originally drafted to the team for the competition’s launch in 2020, only for it to be postponed due to Covid-19.

Scotland international Kathryn Bryce, the newly-crowned ICC Women's Associate Player of the Decade, will also wear yellow this summer after committing to the Trent Bridge-based team.

Lightning batsman Abbey Freeborn completes the list of six signings announced by the Rockets today.

The Rockets are one of eight new teams taking part in The Hundred, a new 100-ball competition designed to attract a large-scale audience to cricket.

Featuring world class men’s and women’s players, it will take place this summer and comprise eight city-based teams from Nottingham, Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Southampton and two in London. It will be screened live by Sky and the BBC.

Dawid Malan said: “I was really pleased when Trent Rockets picked me in the men’s draft and it was a no-brainer to stay with the side. We’ve got a really exciting mix of local talent and overseas stars and we’ll be aiming to bring the trophy to Trent Bridge.”

Kathryn Bryce said: “It has been a whirlwind few-weeks for me after the ICC award and now to know I will be part of The Hundred this summer.

"We’ve got a really exciting mix of local talent and overseas stars and we’ll be aiming to bring the trophy to Trent Bridge.”

Dawid Malan

“These are the sorts of opportunities that can only make me a better player – training alongside the best and playing against the best. I can’t wait to get down to Nottingham and get started.”

More than 100 players are now confirmed for the highly-anticipated competition with all of the eight city-based teams confirming signings today.

England internationals Jonny Bairstow and Tom Banton have committed to Welsh Fire alongside Notts Outlaws’ Vitality Blast Finals Day matchwinner Ben Duckett, while World Cup winner Jason Roy is confirmed to remain with Oval Invincibles.

Nottinghamshire’s Joe Clarke has been joined by Sussex’s Phil Salt and the South African duo of Lizelle Lee and Mignon du Preez in committing to Manchester Originals.

Pakistani quick bowler Mohammad Amir, Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi and South Africa’s Chloe Tryon are all due to represent Lord’s based outfit London Spirit.

Nottinghamshire’s Sonia Odedra, meanwhile, has joined Southern Brave.

The remaining retained men’s players will be revealed on deadline day on 4 February, while the women’s squads will continue to be announced in the coming months.